Skip to content

Year 6.1 Thursday 14th October

October 13, 2010

Today I want you continue with your www.spicynodes.org Author nodemap.

When you add pictures there is also space for you to add a description – it would be fantastic if you could put information about each of the books into your nodemap. Remember I will be giving commendations to the best examples.

As I am not in school today I want you to leave me a comment telling me how you got on. Tell me exactly what you have added to your nodemap. I will be able to receive your comments as soon as you post them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    October 23, 2010 11:47 am

    I have just finished my node map!

  2. October 23, 2010 3:20 pm

    Well done Alice. You have done really well.

    If you want to look at Alice’s nodemap about Beatrix Potter click here
    http://www.spicynodes.org/a/6d4bb1f86643105cf0f35287d940087a

  3. A Lee permalink
    October 25, 2010 9:52 am

    Wow! Alice your mind map on Beatrix Potter and her books is fantastic. I was really interested to see it as in the summer I visited Hill top Farm and stayed in the cottage that is featured in the Tales of Ginger and Pickles book.
    It was quite funny as lots of visitors to the village stoped to look and take pictures of the cottage even when we were in the middle of eating our breakfast.
    I would love to share your work with the children in my school as a great example of using Spicynodes.
    Angela Lee

  4. October 26, 2010 7:17 pm

    Alice, that’s really nice, and the illustrations make it come alive! One suggestion: Your home node has 23 “children.” If your nodemap was a tree, it would be a really short tree. If you have time, maybe you could group those nodes so there are fewer nodes in each group. For example, maybe one node could be “About Beatrix”, and you could put the few nodes about her under that branch. Then, do you think you could group the tales into 2-3 branches? Maybe splitting birds and mammals? For example, you could have a branch with mice, or a branch with foxes & rabbits. Think about how the books could be grouped. By grouping the nodes, there are fewer nodes per branch, and the tree becomes more balanced — and easier to browse.

Leave a Reply

